

# 16<sup>th</sup> ACM SIGSPATIAL International Conference on **Corporate Sponsorship** Advances in Geographic Information Systems (ACM GIS 2008) November 5-7, 2008, Irvine, CA, USA

http://acmgis08.cs.umn.edu/



#### The ACM SIGSPATIAL International Conference on Advances in Geographic Information General Chairs: Systems 2008 (ACM GIS 2008) is the sixteenth event of a series of symposia and workshops Hanan Samet, University of Maryland that began in 1993 with the aim of bringing together researchers, developers, users, and Cyrus Shahabi, University of Southern California practitioners carrying out research and development in novel systems based on geo-spatial Ouri Wolfson, University of Illinois at Chicago data and knowledge, and fostering interdisciplinary discussions and research in all aspects of **Program Chair:** geographic information systems. The conference provides a forum for original research Walid G. Aref. Purdue University contributions covering all conceptual, design, and implementation aspects of GIS ranging **Program Co-chairs:** from applications, user interface considerations, and visualization down to storage Mohamed Mokbel, University of Minnesota Markus Schneider, University of Florida management and indexing issues. This year's conference builds on last year's conference Local Arrangements Chair: great success and on being the premier annual conference of the newly formed ACM Special Erik Hoel, ESRI, USA Interest Group on Spatial Information (ACM SIGSPATIAL). Researchers, students, and Pusheng Zhang, Microsoft, USA practitioners are invited to submit their contributions to this year's ACM GIS. Suggested Treasurer topics include but are not limited to: Yan Huang, University of North Texas

- Cartography and Geodesy
- Computational Geometry
- Computer Vision Applications in GIS
- Distributed, Parallel, and GPU algorithms for GIS
- Earth Observation
- Geographic Information Retrieval
- Human Computer Interaction and Visualization
- Image and Video Understanding
- Location-based Services
- · Location Privacy, Data Sharing and Security
- Performance Evaluation
- Photogrammetry
- Similarity Searching
- Spatial Analysis and Integration
- Spatial and Spatio-temporal Information Acquisition
- Spatial Data Mining and Knowledge Discovery
- Spatial Data Quality and Uncertainty

### **Paper Format and Submission**

Authors are invited to submit full, original, unpublished research papers that are not being considered for publication in any other forum. Manuscripts should be submitted in PDF format and formatted using the ACM camera-ready templates available at

http://www.acm.org/sigs/pubs/proceed/template.html. Papers cannot exceed 10 pages in length. In addition to the regular full-length papers, the Program Committee may accept some as poster papers which may be requested to be shortened. All submitted papers will be refereed for quality, originality, and relevance by the Program Committee. Submissions will be made electronically and online only at: http://acmgis08.cs.umn.edu.

Ph.D. Dissertation Showcase: Ph.D. students are encouraged to submit their Ph.D. research contributions and work-in-progress. Submissions cannot exceed 6 pages -- Add (Ph.D. Showcase) to the title. Student authors of the accepted papers will be given an opportunity to present a summary of their research at the conference. Successful Ph.D. showcase papers will appear in the ACM SIGSPATIAL Newsletter.

**Demonstrations:** Authors are invited to submit Demo papers that describe their original demonstrations to be presented during the conference. Demo paper submissions cannot exceed 2 pages -- Add (Demo Paper) to the title. They will appear in the Conference Proceedings.

### **Invited Speakers (Tentative)**

Jack Dangermond, President, ESRI Vinton Cerf, VP, Google and 2004 ACM Turing Award Winner

## Important Dates (Research, Ph.D., and Demo Papers), all deadlines PST

Abstract Submission:	Full Submission:	Notification:	Camera-Ready:
Jun. 17, 2008,	Jun. 24, 2008,	Aug. 11, 2008	Sept. 1, 2008
9:00 PM	9:00 PM		

- Spatial Data Structures and Algorithms
- Spatial Data Warehousing, OLAP, and **Decision Support**
- Spatial Information and Society
- Spatial Modeling and Reasoning
- Spatial Query Processing and Optimization
- Spatio-temporal Data Handling
- Spatio-temporal Sensor Networks
- Spatio-temporal Stream Processing
- Spatio-textual Searching
- Standardization and Interoperability for GIS
- Storage and Indexing
- Systems, Architectures and Middleware for GIS
- Traffic Telematics
- Transportation
- Urban and Environmental Planning
- Visual Languages and Querying
- Wireless, Web, and Real-time Applications

Chang-Tien Lu, Virginia Tech **Proceedings Chair** Alejandro Pauly, University of Florida **Poster Chair** Jagan Sankaranaravanan. University of Marvland Program Committee Ghaleb Abdulla Houman Alborzi Mohamed Ali Xuan Liu Luc Anselin Lars Arge Elisa Bertino Michela Bertolotto Budhendra Bhaduri Omar Boucelma Frantisek Brabec Thomas Brinkhoff Amitabh Chaudhary Sanjay Chawla Reynold Cheng Christophe Claramunt Eliseo Clementini Anthony Cohn Isabel Cruz Andrew Danner Gordon Deecker Leila De Floriani Matt Duckham Alon Efrat Claudio Esperança Peter Fisher A. Stewart Fotheringham Andrew U. Frank Randolph Franklin Michael Gertz Michael F. Goodchild Michael T. Goodrich Le Gruenwald Ralf Güting Klaus Hinrichs Stephen Hirtle Erik Hoel Yan Huang Ihab F. Ilyas Edwin Jacox Christian S. Jensen Christopher Jones Joseph M. Joy Michael Kallay Ibrahim Kamel Craig Knoblock Marc van Kreveld Roger Zimmermann Robert Laurini

**Publicity Chair** 

Franz Leberl Scott Leutenegger Ki-Joune Li Mario A. Lopez Chang-Tien Lu Nikos Mamoulis Duane F. Marble Claudia Medeiros Richard Muntz Bradford Nickerson Silvia Nittel Eyal Ofek Beng Chin Ooi **Dimitris** Papadias Jignesh Patel Alejandro Pauly Dieter Pfoser Sunil Prabhakar Philippe Rigaux Peter Scheuermann Timos Sellis Sylvie Servigne Mohamed Sharaf Mehdi Sharifzadeh Jayant Sharma Shashi Shekhar Emmanuel Stefanakis Alfred Stein Roberto Tamassia Egemen Tanin Kentaro Toyama Agma Traina Goce Trajcevski E. Lynn Usery Agnès Voisard Elizabeth Wentz Peter Widmayer Stephan Winter Ouri Wolfson Michael Worboys Xiaopeng Xiong May Yuan Donghui Zhang Pusheng Zhang